Blog Tour: LET ME IN – MICHELLE LYNN


LET ME IN By Michelle Lynn

Synopsis
Grant is damaged, selfish, and undeserving of love…or so he thinks.

Jessa is happy, in love, and has overcome her past…or so she thinks.

Grant and Jessa can’t stop thinking about one another since being introduced at a party a month ago. And despite their differences, they can’t seem to stay away from each other either. However, both are hiding secrets of less-than-perfect pasts, fearing what will happen when those mistakes come to light. As they grow closer, they each battle their own insecurities, and neither believes that they are worthy of the kind of love that they both still want. So if it’s true that opposites attract, what happens when the similarities begin to surface?

……………………

REVIEW

*ARC Provided by the Author

 Let Me In tells the story of Grant and Jessa who meet at a party through mutual friends. Their attraction is instantaneous and the connection they feel grows stronger each time they are around each other. But, both Jessa and Grant carry secrets from their pasts and guard them strongly, for the fear that the other won’t truly understand or ever love them. They are both haunted by insecurities that threaten to ruin any chance they have, but if they allow themselves to open up, will their connection allow them to heal and more importantly find the love the both yearn for?

As I sit here writing this, I do not even know where to begin. How can you possibly describe perfection in the form of one of the most stunningly poignant love stories?

Grant is such a loving and incredibly caring guy. Consumed with fears of allowing himself to love and be loved, his past has left him timid and damaged and riddled with the fear that he will always lose those dear to him.  Yet, Grant recognises these qualities within Jessa and because of this; he feels she has the power to heal him. And she does just that. She is the perfect girl to soothe his wounds and together watching them gradually heal and shed their fears from the past, was a beautiful journey that Michelle Lynn took me on. Grant is not only a gorgeous and compassionate man; he is an incredibly sexy and decisive guy who instantly grabs your heart with his honest nature and striking dominance.

“But if you ever change your mind, and decide you want a man who’ll treat you like you deserve, you know where to find me. I’m warning you though, there are two things I won’t do. I refuse to take another guy’s girl behind his back and secondly, I won’t wait around like a schmuck for someone to pick me either. The choice is yours.”

While his vulnerability is masked through his meaningless encounters in an effort to numb out his pain, it shines through with heartbreaking clarity through the writing. There was one particular moment that had me in tears, as I lay in bed with my Kindle clutched tightly in my hands.

‘His eyes are empty and I worry I made a mistake, forcing him to relieve the worst moment of his life. “Don’t leave me,” he requests, and his blue eyes have a speck of life back in them.’

Jessa is such an incredibly strong heroine. After being burned in an incredibly cruel way, she reinvents herself to wash away the scars of her past. Living in a relationship with the wrong guy, apprehension consumes her when any thoughts of Grant pervade her mind. What makes her such a likable heroine is her kind, endearing nature and the fact that she feels so undeserving of a strong, sweet man like Grant. One who would treat her as she has never been treated and one who would more importantly have the power to love her like no one else before.

This was my very first Michelle Lynn book, and I must say that I am completely and utterly blown away. This was a beautiful love story about the power of unconditional love and self forgiveness.

Grant’s letters

I feel like I should mention the letters within the story, because it is one of the most beautiful elements within this novel. The letters (without giving anything away) were the most beautiful and melancholic additions, expertly weaved into this love story and will provide you with an endearing and tear jerking backdrop to Grant and Jessa’s journey. This is a book that had me in tears at just 2% in, and continually brought them to my eyes. Let Me In is a novel that has such poignantly beautiful writing, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

5 Stunningly Beautiful STARS

EXCERPT

My mind races as I’m leaving the lecture hall. Pulling my gloves and hat on, I watch Grant’s large frame walk quickly in the other direction. How can your heart and mind be in two more different places? My heart screams for Grant every time we’re around each other, but my mind won’t let me take the step. Make that a giant leap.

The thing that scares me the most is that he doesn’t truly want it.  I can feel his desire for me throughout my whole body when he’s near, but then he pulls back just as fast. Then again, the last thing I want is to stay with Rob just for the sake of having someone.  I’m stronger than that and I know it. 

Before Jason, I wouldn’t have thought twice about breaking things off with Rob and running toward Grant. Fuck Jason for making me doubt my self-worth. My therapist’s words ring in my head from my last session: ‘You have to live again, Jessa. Go, and be happy. You’ve done the work, now reap the reward.’ Dr. Hinkle was the one who convinced me to leave Boulder and start fresh somewhere else. And that’s exactly what I did last semester.

When I first met Rob, I was scared out of my mind, but I pushed forward like Dr. Hinkle said and let him in. Things were so great…at first.  He took me home for Thanksgiving and it felt as though we were really going somewhere. That he could be the one and we’d fall in love and live happily ever after. Then he and his band agreed to play Grant’s fraternity party and our relationship started to shift. Dates stopped, the swooning disappeared, and suddenly, I’m being rushed through drive-thru windows to eat and propped up against anything but a bed to fuck.

…………………….

Purchasing Links:

Let Me In:

Don’t Let Go:

Author Bio:

Michelle moved around the Midwest most of her life, transferring from school to school before settling down in the outskirts of Chicago ten years ago, where she now resides with her husband and two kids. She developed a love of reading at a young age, which helped lay the foundation for her passion to write. With the encouragement of her family, she finally sat down and wrote one of the many stories that have been floating around in her head. When she isn’t reading or writing, she can be found playing with her kids, talking to her mom on the phone, or hanging out with her family and friends. But after chasing around twin preschoolers all day, she always cherishes her relaxation time after putting the kids to bed.

Giveaway:

4 – $25 Gift Cards to Amazon

1 – Signed set Don’t Let Go and Let Me In paperbacks (US residents ONLY)

5 – eBooks of Let Me In

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/M2JiNjJlMDMyMzA5OGQwNzRiNWJlODQzNzE5ZDY1OjQ3/

One thought on “Blog Tour: LET ME IN – MICHELLE LYNN

Leave a Reply

