Blog Tour – Review, Excerpt & Giveaway: EMBRACE – S.E HALL

EMBRACE By S.E Hall

Synopsis:
Evan Allen is a handsome, athletic, southern gentleman who now attends Georgia Southern University for no good reason.

After what he expected to be the romantic gesture of the century, Evan is looking at no friends, a year of ineligibility on the football team, and no girl.

He’s starting over alone and doesn’t know quite how to proceed. Certain members of The Crew refuse to let him face things by himself, taking him under their wing, and it doesn’t take the ladies long to notice him, either.

Sometimes life doesn’t go as you had planned. Sometimes it goes better.

Embrace it.

Embrace, the second book in the Evolve Series by S.E. Hall, follows the characters from her debut New Adult romance, Emerge

………………………

REVIEW

*ARC provided by the Author

For those who have yet to read Emerge (Evolve #1) – The following review does contain spoilers and will ruin the beautiful first instalment of this series.

Firstly let me just say that S.E Hall utterly broke my heart in Book 1. I have never, and I mean never been so torn between two male characters vying for the female protagonist’s affection. And my love for Evan only intensified in Embrace.

Embrace is the second book in the Evolve series and centres on Evan and his life at Southern, after discovering his first love, Laney did not reciprocate his feelings. Now having left his entire life and dreams behind for the life with a girl he thought was his one and only, Evan is left devastated, bitter and alone.

The relationship that evolved between Evan and Whitley was well written and utterly sweet. There were moments they shared that were almost poetically described and yet remained realistic and endearing. Their friendship grew so intensely and was beautifully, making you fall utterly in love with these two heartbroken individuals, who find the missing pieces within each other.

Whitley was a surprisingly modest, genuine and likeable heroine. And paired with the gorgeously sexy, Evan they made a captivating pair to watch. Evan’s character still remained true to that of which was conveyed in Emerge. If anything, his fears of losing someone he truly loves consumed him and forced him to become this possessive, over protective alpha male. The juxtaposition S.E Hall creates with the delicate, sophisticated young heroine and the seductively dominating hero was brilliant.

I loved this book but to be honest, I did not entirely like the inclusion of Laney and Dane’s perspective – until the very end, that is. That was when I realised the inclusion of Laney and Dane’s POV was spectacularly weaved into the story to truly emphasise the growth of these characters and the development of each of the relationships  explored within the Evolve series. The only thing I can possible say, is that I just wish Whitley’s perspective was included. I found her to be such a compelling and endearing heroine, and I would have loved to see certain situations through her eyes.

Nonetheless this is a beautiful instalment in a gorgeous series about the discovery of love, first heartbreaks and life. And I cannot wait to read more from the author and more about the gorgeous and very cheeky Sawyer.

4.5 shiny stars

 

Excerpt

Laney

“Hello?”

“Zach, don’t say my name,” I choke out, storming across the lot as fast as my shaking legs will carry me.

“What’s wrong? Where’d you-“ his voice comes loud and worried through the phone.

“Don’t say that!” I interrupt, God, how embarrassing. “Can you walk away from everyone and talk to me for a minute? Where no one can hear you.” My voice is nasally and obnoxious, getting on my own nerves.

“Yeah Mom, hang on.” Zach- not a great actor. “Okay Laney, I’m by myself now,” he whispers.

“I’m sorry I bailed on practice, and I’m sorry to bug you now, but I need a Zach of infinite wisdom fix real bad right about now.”

“Let’s pretend I don’t already know what’s up your ass and you go ahead. It’ll give you a chance to vent.”

Alright, so that almost makes me grin.

“Basically, he just hung on that bitch in front of me just to piss me off, and it worked! Seriously? I don’t do that shit to him! Nothing I did was to purposely hurt him. How long did I absolutely torture myself NOT to hurt him Zach, huh? A long ass time!” I come up for air, waiting for him to tell me how right I am while I climb in my truck.

“Laney, you know I love you, right?”

This can’t be good.

“Yes…”

“Then you know it’s with love when I say this.” Dramatic pause that makes my skin crawl. “Get over yourself! I don’t care if he fucked her on the field and asked you to film it. You may not have meant to, but you destroyed that kid. He’s here with no friends, no girl and a new team. Sound familiar? He’s just trying to put one foot in front of the other every day, just like you did. You got your happily ever after, so back the fuck off and let him try to find his.”

Well then. Zach-1. Laney-0.

It hurts, not even gonna pretend it doesn’t, but his words are honest…and absolutely dead on. It angers me at myself for being the cause of such sad, but true words, describing the crushing of my Evan. It’s a lot to think on and I have to do that now, before I cruise right out of control.

“You’re right Zach. That’s why I call you. I’ll always get the straight-up what I need to hear. Thanks.”

“I luv ya Laney. Don’t be mad at me, but much like yourself, don’t ask for my advice if you don’t want it.”

I chuckle, “God, if that isn’t the truth. You’re harsh, but right. I’m not mad, I swear. Now go coach! I’ll talk to ya later.”

“Later Laney.”

I hang up and stare out my windshield, pondering. Zach is right, I’m being a selfish bitch.

………………………….

About S.E Hall

S.E.Hall resides in Arkansas with her husband of 17 years and 3 beautiful daughters. When not in the stands watching her ladies play softball, she enjoys reading YA and NA romance.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/S.E.HallAuthorEmerge

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7087549.S_E_Hall

Twitter: https://twitter.com/emergeauthor

GIVEAWAY

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/9e818a13/

Leave a Reply

