Blog Tour: UNSPOKEN – JEN FREDERICK Review & Giveaway


UNSPOKEN By Jen Frederick

* ARC Provided by the Author

Release date:  Sept. 12, 2013
Age Group:  New Adult
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Synopsis
Whore. Slut. Typhoid Mary.

I’ve been called all these at Central College. One drunken night, one act of irresponsible behavior, and my reputation was ruined. Guys labeled me as easy and girls shied away. To cope, I stayed away from Central social life and away from Central men, so why is it that my new biology lab partner is so irresistible to me?

He’s everything I shouldn’t want. A former Marine involved in illegal fighting with a quick trigger temper and an easy smile for all the women. His fists aren’t the danger to me, though, it’s his charm. He’s sliding his way into my heart and I’m afraid that he’s going to be the one to break me.

Impulsive. Unthinking. Hot tempered.

I allow instinct to rule my behavior. If it feels good, do it, has been my motto because if I spend too much time thinking, I’ll begin to remember exactly where I came from. At Central College, I’ve got fighting and I’ve got women and I thought I was satisfied until I met her.

She’s everything I didn’t realize I wanted and the more time I spend with her, the more I want her. But she’s been hurt too much in the past and I don’t want to be the one to break her. I know I should walk away, but I just can’t.

…………………………

Review

I always find it incredibly difficult to write reviews for books that I absolutely love. I am talking about the books that I just have to see the title to remember specific scenes that moved me, or characters that I found addictive and captivating. This is one of those books for me. So, I am going to keep this one short and sweet and attempt to write this review in a way that will do this story justice. But really, you need to go out and buy it now to truly get what I mean.

Unspoken tells the story of AnneMarie West and Bo Randolf. Twenty year old AnneMarie (or AM as she is called) is a girl who has repressed her feelings of anger and self worth. She is a young woman who attempts to avoid drawing even more unwarranted attention to herself at all costs, after a horrible first college experience.

Bo Randolph suppresses his own fears deep within, that he is a man unworthy of love and the deep rooted fear that he is not good enough. Harbouring years of repressed anger he is a young 23 year old, former Marine and a bad boy college guy trying to find what he loves in life.

What I loved about this book was the slow, seductive journey Jen Frederick takes you on, as these two characters pace back and forth between humorous banter to undeniable lust and chemistry – Which I might add was spectacularly written.

I found myself having so much empathy for AnneMarie and the fact that fear and shame pervaded her world, when it was unnecessary for her to place blame on herself. These characters were likeable, if at times frustrating in the best possible way. I loved that the story included a vast array of secondary characters also, but they in no way detracted from this incredible and beautiful love story and a tale of finding your strengths.

Unspoken is written in both AM’s and Bo’s POV and I absolutely loved the constant alternation in perspective. This book is one that sucks you in with the colourful and engaging writing and leaves reeling for the next moment of banter and sexual tension that jumps off the page, between these two characters.

I.Loved.Bo. I loved his passionate, relentless spirit when it came to AM and protecting what is his – not to mention he was just downright sexy. He is a man who displays such a ferocious need and craving to love AM, but I also the loved the fact that he was a character who contained fear. It was that same fear that helped him grow and transform into a man who slowly attempts to acknowledge the possibilities and worthiness of the love he so deserves.

Beautiful, endearing, and a solid read. That is how I would describe Unspoken in short succinct words. This book was a fantastic read that I would gladly pick up again.
I highly recommend it, and I cannot wait to read more from this series.

5 Spectacular Stars

Undeclared
(Woodlands, #1)

 Synopsis

For four years, Grace Sullivan wrote to a Marine she never met, and fell in love. But when his deployment ended, so did the letters. Ever since that day, Grace has been coasting, academically and emotionally. The one thing she’s decided? No way is Noah Jackson – or any man – ever going to break her heart again.

Noah has always known exactly what he wants out of life. Success. Stability. Control. That’s why he joined the Marines and that’s why he’s fighting his way – literally – through college. Now that he’s got the rest of his life on track, he has one last conquest: Grace Sullivan. But since he was the one who stopped writing, he knows that winning her back will be his biggest battle yet.

……………………………

About the Author

Jen Frederick lives with her husband, child, and one rambunctious dog.  She’s been reading stories all her life but never imagined writing one of her own. Jen loves to hear from readers so drop her a line at jensfrederick@gmail.com.

Author Social Media Links:

 Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/AuthorJenFrederick

 Twitter – @JensFred; https://twitter.com/JenSFred

 Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6995972.Jen_Frederick

GIVEAWAY

(1) iPad mini for US/Canada or Apple Gift Card in the amount of an iPad Mini for International winner, and (5) Print copies of Unspoken with dog tags – International

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZjYyMzdmZDU1MmU0YmE1MTNiNGVmOWFlNWU5MDQyOjMyOQ==/

Event organised by

One thought on “Blog Tour: UNSPOKEN – JEN FREDERICK Review & Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Day Six, Am I counting right? | Jen Frederick

Leave a Reply

