Blog Tour: TEMPORARY BLISS – B.J. HARVEY – Review, Deleted Scene & Giveaway

TEMPORARY BLISS By B.J. Harvey
Published: August 29th

Synopsis
Makenna Lewis cringes at any mention of the word commitment. She doesn’t want or need a relationship, but she does like sex (who doesn’t).

That explains Noah, Sean, and Zander, her three ‘friends with benefits’.

They know the score, they know they’re not the only one, and each of them provide her with a different physical need that she craves and enjoys.

Until a late night encounter with the delicious Daniel Winters turns her preconceived notion of no-commitment completely on its head.

Soon she finds herself feeling things she vowed never to feel again, and when Daniel pushes for more than she’s willing to give, she falters.

What do you do when something that you’ve known to be so wrong in the past feels so damn right?

If you’re Mac, you run and hide.

But is Daniel the type of man who takes no for an answer?

………………………….

REVIEW

Temporary Bliss tells the story of Makenna (Mac), a hard working, self sufficient young woman who learnt the hard way that she will never again let a man abuse the pure love she once had to give. Swearing to never truly let love in again, she has three ‘no strings’ relationships running with three very seductive men. Each man brings Mac something different, and living in the moments she shares with them is enough to satisfy her. But when Mac meets the sexy Daniel one night, suddenly the men who have a temporary place in her life, no longer fulfil the void in her heart.  The more time Daniel and Mac spend together, the deeper their feelings grow, but Mac is determined that she will never let another man into her heart. What happens when Daniel is just as determined to show Mac he is the one who could change that?

Temporary Bliss is the type of book that will definitely charm you with a very cheeky, flirtatious and heart-warming story. This is a very different sort of love story though. What I loved was that BJ Harvey creates the perfect secondary male characters in: Noah Taylor, Sean Miller and Zander Roberts. Each delectable man encompasses the qualities we all love and seek within a good romance. And if having three men who embody  dominance, sexual chemistry,  raw attraction don’t tempt you enough,  she creates another character who is an amalgamation of the ideal man – through the very delicious Daniel!

What can I say, I have a weakness for a dominant, alpha male who imbues such a compassionate and caring side. Daniel is a man who really assumes that role perfectly within Temporary Bliss.

This book was a refreshing take on how love not only has the power to heal, but to break a person in such a detrimental way. I loved the reversal of stereotypical gender roles .The heroine is independent, self sufficient and uses men to fulfil her needs. She does not care if it is selfish, she is upfront with each of them, that each man brings something different to the table and fulfils a certain need the others do not. Mac has the serious commitment issues and is met with a strong male hero who believes in love and strong emotional connections. This contrast between Mac and Daniel’s characters works so well within this story, and makes it a very captivating read .

I found myself pulled in four different directions within this book. I wanted the story to explore Noah, Sean and Zander, as well as focusing on Mac and Daniel (*Perhaps B.J will explore these three men further? I sure hope so and once you read this, you most definitely will too!*) I wanted to see these men have relationships and I think the glimpses that the Author gives the reader of each man’s selfless and sultry character, fed that desire to know more. At the same time, the secondary characters do not detract in any way from the main focus of the story, and the growth of both Mac and Daniel throughout the course of the book.

I found Mac to be an extremely likably heroine, who has suffered greatly at the hands of extremely heart breaking circumstances. That does not mean she did not have her frustrating moments for me.  I would have loved a little more angst and the characters to really push one another and hash out certain issues a little more also.

The pace was kinetic nonetheless, and it was a light, flirtatious read that also touched upon some serious and heartbreaking issues. There were moments in this book that brought tears to my eyes. There were also moments where those same tears were running down my cheeks from some hilarious scenes. I am extremely excited to read the sequel with Kate, and will be waiting in anxious anticipation for Bliss #2.

4.5 Lovely Stars.

Purchase Links:

DELETED SCENE

“Which boy of the week was that?” Kate asks with a smirk. 

“Sean. I felt a little crazy last night so needed a spanking.”

I laugh as Kate spits her coffee out and starts choking.

“God dammit Mac, you’re so easy.”

“I’m not easy, I’m free spirited.”

“Free spirited with your body.”

“Hey now, no need to get jealous. It’s like having one boyfriend with four different talents. They’re all great at what they do, but there are particular things they excel at,” I say with a wink.

Kate giggles at that. I know she means well but I still feel the need to explain myself.

“Look, it’s what I like and it’s what I need right now. After Beau, I don’t want anything other than sex. They know the score and they’re fine with it.”

I don’t really feel the conviction in my last comment though. They’re supposed to know the score and be fine with it. But Daniel, I’m not so sure about anymore.

He seems too keen to see me, too disappointed when it’s time to leave, and has even broached the subject of catching a movie sometime. I’ve brushed it off but it is getting to the stage where I might have to break off our arrangement. It’s the last thing I want to do because he is just what I like to come home to after a long twelve hour shift. He’s the affectionate one. He’s always kissing me, nuzzling my neck, and God, the massages he gives me are to die for. Our lovemaking is soft and sensual, it;s lazy and hedonistic, it’s like a warm apple pie on a cold winter’s night. He’s my comfort sex. But get him fired up, and holy cow batman, that man can set me on fire.

…………………………………

Book Trailer:

www.youtube.com/embed/9UZwmf0AOLw

Author Bio:

I’m 31 years old and live in New Zealand, the most beautiful country in the world.

I love reading, and started writing my first novel, Lost in Distraction in December 2012. Before that I’d written business and website articles professionally but never fiction. I love the indie community, authors, bloggers and readers alike and have met so many awesome people that I now call dear friends.

I’m a huge music lover as well. I REALLY love music. If there isn’t music playing, something is wrong. And it’s a wide range of music too, I might surprise you with my eclectic tastes.

I’m also a wife, mother of two gorgeous girls and currently working for myself as well as studying full time to become an accountant of all things. I also have a Bachelor of Communications.

My author inspirations are: Michelle Leighton, Barbara Elsborg and Kristen Ashley.

Author Links:

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/BJ-Harvey/e/B00C7DWYH0/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

GR Author Profile: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6886702.B_J_Harvey

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/bjharveyauthor

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pages/BJ-Harvey/471226826268697

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/bjharveyauthor

Giveaway:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/ZjZkYWNmMmY3NzQwYzczNWIzY2RlN2IyYWI0OGJiOjU5/

Leave a Reply

