Blog Tour: RUINED – S. PRATT : Review, Excerpt & Giveaway

  Title: Ruined
Author: S. Pratt
Genre: Contemporary Romance

Synopsis
“So I live my life according to the rules of others while my secret festers its way through my body. It bleeds slowly out of my heart and into my veins. Each word of my secret pulsing through me as it gets closer to the surface. I imagine one day it will get so close to the surface it will spring forth from my lips and reveal the monster I really am.” – Ruined.

Bailey Michaels is living a lie. She has a handsome and successful fiancé, a great job and a house in a town she adores. Her friends and family know her as the perfectly crafted individual she has created in their minds. Her deception knows no bounds when it comes to keeping the truth from everyone else. But it’s not enough. She craves the love of the one man she can’t possibly have – the only one who shares her secret.

Despite her angst over continuing her forbidden affair, nothing can keep her from Angel.

His dark looks, chiseled jaw and broodiness make it impossible for her to ever deny him anything. So when presented with a choice, Bailey knows she finally has to make a decision. Keep living the lie with her fiancé, Carron, or finally be with Angel – the man who’s had her heart since she was fifteen.

The funny thing with life though; just when you think you’ve got it all figured out, fate has a way of stepping in and turning the best laid plans to ruins.

 ……………………….

REVIEW

Let’s talk about emotional whiplash – In all honesty I suffered from extremely conflicting emotions whilst reading Ruined. I wanted so desperately to like and understand Bailey’s outlook and views on all situations.  I struggled to comprehend how a woman who is so damaged and yet so in love with a man, could possibly use and abuse the love of another man in his place. Carron is such a heartfelt, compassionate man who adores this woman and accepts the cold distance of love she reciprocates. He asked her to marry him and lives the sweet, comfortable life they share completely oblivious to the fact that Bailey does not feel any deep connection to him. I felt so much of empathy for his character. I truly hope one day S. Pratt will write more about Carron; I would pick up that book instantly!
The complexity of Bailey’s character is another issue entirely, even though it is well explored and brilliantly written. Her character does go through some growth throughout the course of the novel; however I still did not admire the young woman she was when I finished Ruined. There were a lot of back and forth moments that I did not agree with at all on Bailey’s end and that was my biggest issue. I just could not connect with her character. I had an extreme love hate relationship with Bailey. I loved the fact that she acknowledged her faults and owned up to her poor decisions. What I truly disliked was the fact that, despite admitting to her cruel, disingenuous behaviour and her horribly selfish ways, she still continued to use and abuse the love of two men who completely adored her.

And finally, then here is Angel, oh Angel – S. Pratt has created the epitome of a dominant, overbearing, passionate man who goes to great lengths to protect the one he loves. I loved reading about this man, and I loved how even though there are only small doses of his character divulged throughout, I found myself craving for the next scene that revolved around him.

In relation to the plot and the ‘taboo’ subject matter, I did not find it to be that bad. Of course, you need to read it. I had a strong suspicion of where the twist would lead, and so I think I was a lot more prepared for the impact. The fact of the matter is these characters share a deep connectedness by the depth of love they share. Without going into too much depth and giving away major plot spoilers, I believe that S. Pratt tells the delicate tale of two characters who were meant to find each other and become the very lifelines that keep them whole.  They both suffered traumas and are also brought together by the common ground of wanting to protect one another.

Despite all that I disliked about the heroine however and some situations, S. Pratt weaves together a well written story of heartache, forbidden love, and the passion that ensues when you find that all encompassing, consuming, once-in-a-lifetime love. And in the process she sucks you in and holds you captive for the duration of Ruined.

This is a book that I am glad I read, and despite its highly frustrating moments, it is equally heartfelt, and will hold you captive. I definitely recommend you read it!

S. Pratt you are a devious soul who has managed to create a very conflicting story that encapsulates the true struggles of love. She has successfully created a story that makes you feel extreme emotions. Whether you like, hate, agree/disagree with any of it, it does not lessen the impact it makes.

3.5-4 stars

………………………….

EXCERPT

While I am in that state of semi-consciousness and sleep, I can feel the secrets in my chest. Slowly they move within my heart, the heart I keep locked. At first it is just a snippet … a word he said or a look. Pretty soon all manner of things are jumping and rattling around inside, almost like an incessant monster trying to get out from lock and key. Touches, kisses, promises, begging, pleading and abandonment – it’s all there raging like a storm in my chest, unleashed for me to feel the full impact of what the memory of all those things mean.

‘This is so fucked up!’ I scream so loudly the cat jumps off the bed and bolts out of the room. I doubt she will be back anytime soon. Rolling onto my side I bang my fist into the pillow and sob.

‘Why does it have to be wrong? Why, why, why!’ My anger soon turns to a muffled wail as I cry myself to sleep. The only problem is that no matter how many times I sleep, I will never wake up in a world where loving Angel is okay. I will only ever be able to have him in the snippets he allows.

………………………..

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

 

S. Pratt is a multi-genre author who lives on the east coast of Australia in northern New South Wales with her husband and two children. She has a choc Labrador, Scooby-Doo, and two little mice that the kids promised they’d look after. This is now Shelly’s job, amongst other things. Things you may not know about Shelly? She has four tattoos and would love more, is only now in her 30’s becoming a wine whore and is a fiercely, loyal friend.

Shelly’s breakout novel, Ruined and companion novella, Ruining Angel are contemporary romance fiction books available on kindle and print from the Amazon store.

Sanctuary of Mine is her latest work in the New Adult Romance genre. (Graphic Design by Cover It Designs). Available NOW.

Beloved Soul by Shelly Pratt is available through Amazon and is published through Eternal Press. Please note that Beloved Soul’s cover artwork, editing and publication are all done through Eternal Press.

All other novels are written and published by S. Pratt. Editing acknowledgements go to those who are listed on each individual book title.

You can find all the latest information about Shelly and her other books (in different genres) by visiting http://facebook.com/authorpratt or http://shellypratt.net or http://twitter.com/authorprattster

NOW ON GOODREADS – ADD SHELLY’S NOVEL TO YOUR TBR PILE!

BUY LINKS

Amazon eBook: http://amzn.com/B00BSY22JY

Amazon Paperback: http://amzn.com/1491039701

PLAYLIST

 

Daylight, Maroon Five

Miracle of Love, Eurythmics

Bless the Broken Road, Rascal Flats

I Will Wait, Mumford and Sons

Beneath Your Beautiful, Labrinth

Anything Could Happen, Ellie Goulding

Sleeping At Last, Turning Page

Fucking Perfect, Pink

Wide Awake, Katy Perry

Kiss Me, Ed Sheeran

Forgiven, Nickleback

GIVEAWAY

 (2) Winners – One Signed Paperbacks of Ruined per winner.

(10) Winners – One eBook of Ruined Angel per winner.

(2) $5 Amazon Gift Card

 http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/81df7f122/

Hosted by: Love Between the Sheets

Leave a Reply

