FEAR OF FALLING – S.L JENNINGS

Fear of falling

Fear of Falling By  S.L JENNINGS

ARC provided by the Author
Release Date: July 18th, 2013

Synopsis

“Don’t worry,” he smiled, pulling me into the hard warmth of his chest. “I’ve got you. I’ll always catch you when you fall.”

And just like that, Blaine had staked his claim on the untouched part of me that no living soul had ever moved. He had captured every fear, every reservation, and crushed them in the palm of his inked hand.

I can’t remember the last time I felt completely safe. Security seemed more like a luxury to me, reserved for those who were fortunate enough to have picture perfect childhoods. For those who didn’t bear the ugly scars that keep me bound in constant, debilitating fear. I’ve run from that fear my entire life. But when I met him, for once, I couldn’t run anymore.

He scared the hell out of me in a way that excited every fibre of my being. It wasn’t the tattoos or the piercings. It wasn’t the warmth that seemed to radiate from his frame and blanket me whenever he was near. It was just…him. The scary beautiful man that threatened to alter 23 years of routine and rituals, and make me face my crippling fear.

My name is Kami and I am constantly afraid. And the thing that scares me the most is the very thing I want.

***Inspired by true events***

…………………………….

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Fear of Falling tells the story of Kami Duvall, a 23 year old young woman, who is incessantly haunted by her fears and the emotional and physical turmoil of her childhood and Blaine Jacobs – the sweet, compassionate, and beautiful tattooed bartender – who implodes Kami’s orderly world. Living in Charlotte with her two best friends, Kami unexpectedly meets the enigmatic, tattooed and very gorgeous bartender in a flirtatious predicament. Both of these characters may have met under unexpected circumstances, but neither one is expecting the instantaneous pull that binds them together. The two share the burden of guilt, heartbreak, and the torment from their pasts.  But when fears and rituals pervade and consume Kami’s brittle world, is there enough space for Blaine and does she have the capacity to allow herself to be saved and more importantly to be loved by him? Or will her fears keep her from a normal life? A life she deserves.

This book was incredibly powerful, heartbreaking and inspired by true events. Fear of Falling is one of those books that exemplify the power of the written word and how strong emotions can be instigated from powerful writing. It sends you on a rollercoaster of melancholy, and overwhelms and consumes you from the first page.

S.L Jennings threads the delicate strings of a character that is so broken, fragile and consumed by pure fear, that it is just breaks your heart. Kami is such an intriguing character and the way in which her story was divulged little by little throughout the course of the book was beautifully written. This story is intense at times, and deals with the very heavy subject matter of abuse. It is not all dark and melancholy by any means, yes there is angst but there are also endearing moments and moments of humour (that will make you laugh out loud).

The story is told from both Kami and Blaine’s POV and the way in which Blaine’s perspective was entwined throughout the book, really made this story complete. I also loved what the secondary characters, Dom and Angel brought to the story. Their involvement with Kami and they way in which the characters interact within the story signifies how damaged Kami is, and how beautifully written the story was.

Blaine has to be one of the most perfect male protagonists! S.L Jennings amalgamates the perfect blend of tattooed bad boy, with a compassionate, sweet, compelling man with a heart of gold. A man who wants nothing more than to save this broken girl, give himself whole-heartedly to her and have her in his life.

Fear of Falling also has one of the most beautiful book covers.

The symbolism of stars and the way in which the imagery on the cover entwines within this story is a stunning element of this book. It signifies a strong young woman whose fears are slowly eating away at the heart and sprit she has left. As well as the 254 reasons she believes she is unworthy of the normalcy, contentment, and the healing that love can provide. This is a book you must pick up and read, one that I cannot recommend enough.

I found myself so consumed with the story and these characters that I almost felt a sense of emotional exhaustion at what these characters had been through. As I lay in bed reading this book, my hair was wet from tears spilling and my thumbs were aching from the tight hold I had on my Kindle.

It is so difficult to truly express how impactful this story was, in a way that can truly do it justice. The simplest thing that I can do is tell you to not hesitate in buying it. The journey that Fear of Falling takes you is on, is one that I highly recommend you take.

5 Beautiful Stars.

*I would like to say a very special thank you to S.L Jennings for providing me with this ARC, I am so gracious I was able to read this beautiful story.

five-stars

Leave a Reply

